Careers Advice

Child Employment

The law relating to child employment allows for young people aged 13 and above to take on part time employment. Any young person who assists in a trade or occupation for profit is considered as employed, even if they receive no payment.  For example, children who help their parents in a shop without receiving payment are still considered to be employed.

Application has to be made for such employment to Essex County Council and a permit granted. Applications contain a declaration by the Head teacher which needs to be signed before the application is submitted to the Missing Education and Child Employment Service.

To find out more please click on the link below
 
Directions

Post 16 Options

Information for Students and Parents

Now is an important time for Year 11 students. Students will soon be in the process of applying to Colleges and Sixth Forms. As well as the guidance offered through assemblies, visits and teaching, The Ramsey Academy has a Careers Advisor, Laura Eaves, who attends 1 day per week to offer impartial information, advice and guidance to students on the range of options available. Students can drop in at lunchtime or request an appointment via their tutor.  

Students have the choice between A ‘levels, The International Baccalaureate (IB), Diplomas and Apprenticeships. There are options available for all levels of ability.

COLLEGES/SIXTH FORMS

 

 Braintree Sixth Form  www.braintreesixthform.com

Wednesday 7 November 2018 - 6.00 p.m. to 8.00 p.m.

Applications open online from 9 November 2018 and close on Friday 15 December 2018

 

Chelmsford College www.chelmsford-college.ac.uk

Monday 15 October 2018 – 6.00 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

Monday 26 November 2018 - 6.00 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

Monday 4 February 2019 – 6.00 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

Monday 29 April 2019 – 6.00 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

Monday 24 June 2019 – 6.00 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

 

Colchester Institute www.colchester.ac.uk

Saturday 13 October 2018 - 10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m.

Monday 15 October 2018 - 5.00 p.m. to 8.00 p.m.

Tuesday 16 October 2018 - 5.00 p.m. to 8.00 p.m.

Wednesday 16 January 2019 – 5.00 p.m.-7.00 p.m.

Apprenticeship Information Evening – Tuesday 5 March 2019 from 5.00 p.m. till 7.00 p.m.

 

Colchester Sixth Form College www.colchsfc.ac.uk

A Level Open Evening

Wednesday 17 and Thursday 18 October – 6.00 p.m to 9.00 p.m.

International Baccalaureate Information Evening

Monday 13 November 2018 – 7.00 p.m. to 9.00 p.m.

Applications open online from 20 October 2018 and close on 31 January 2019

 

EASI Hairdressing Academy www.easihair.co.uk

Saturday 3 November 10 a.m - 2 p.m

 

Hedingham Sixth Form www.hedingham.essex.sch.uk

Wednesday 7 November 6 p.m.

  

Sudbury Ormiston Academy www.ormistonsudburyacademy.co.uk

Thursday 22 November Time TBC on website

 

Stansted Airport College http://www.stanstedairportcollege.ac.uk

Tuesday 6 November 2018 – 5.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

Wednesday 13 February 2019 – 5.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

Thursday 9 May 2019 – 5.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

 

The College at Braintree www.colchester.ac.uk

Thursday 18 October 2018 - 5.00 p.m. to 8.00 p.m.

Saturday 3 November 2018 - 10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m.

Monday 14 January 2019 – 5.00 p.m. to 7.00 p.m.

Apprenticeship Information Evening – Monday 4 March 2019 from 5.00 p.m. till 7.00 p.m.

 

Writtle University College www.writtle.ac.uk

Saturday 17 November 2018 – 10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m.

Saturday 19 January 2019 – 10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m.

Saturday 27 April 2019 – 10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m.

Wednesday 19 June 2019 – 5.30 p.m. to 7.30 p.m.

 Staff    Email
Mrs A Barnes Curriculum Leader for Drama/Careers, Advice and Guidance  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Mrs L Eaves Directions Careers Advisor This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Related files

Download Open Events - 2018-19

The Ramsey Academy, Halstead an academy within the North Essex Multi-Academy Trust, a company limited by guarantee registered in England & Wales (Company Number 7687474)
The Ramsey Academy, Colne Road, Halstead, Essex, CO9 2HR | Tel: 01787 472 481 | Fax: 01787 474 267 | Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

We have a UK Parliament Teacher AmbassadorClick here to contact CEOP We are a Healthy SchoolA Member of the Saffron AllianceFind us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter